The novel Novels

It really helps you a lot when others can suggest a good novel. I was always encouraged to read good books, varied books, classic/neo/religious/cultural/fiction/scientific/comic/children books. It helps in making opinion, having a conviction and developing presence of mind. Books develop person reasoning skills, thoughtfulness, his articulation, comprehension skills and the vocabulary .

So, today as I remember  I have read good many number of books and of difference types.  From adventures of tom swayer to detective novels of Sherlock Holmes, from classic wuthering heights to biography of Tesla. From short stories/novels of Premchand to RK Narayan short stories and many more…

 I would like to mention few very interesting ones: wings of fire, gora, 2 states, five points someone, biography of madam curie, yossel, sherlock holmes, feluda, ask jeeves, da-vince, amar chitra katha comics etc…

I must say, I was equally preplexed by the detective skills of Feluda (Satyajit Ray creator) as I was mesmerized by the sharp mindedness and brains (wittiness) of Sherlock Holmes. I was touched by the narration in Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte as I was by Kabuliwalah story of Tagore or Premchand numerous short stories. PG Wodehouse Jeeves character was so hilarious and full of subtle humour kept me cheerful in my evenings and Yossel (by …) gave me serious realization of world war 2 ghettos and atrocities happened there.

Over the time, I have seen lot of movies and few of them I love to watch again and again. Movies add to the imagination, so I think reading a novel first and then going for a movie on it, and  in between developing ones own criticism for the story and its characters, can keep the story fresh in mind all the time and can help in appreciating the writer on one hand and relating to ones own life or real life events on the other hand.

Leave a comment